The Author Stack
Interview archive
[SPECIAL ARCHIVE EPISODE] How to build a world-class comic book with David Pepose
0:00
-1:07:25

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Author Stack

[SPECIAL ARCHIVE EPISODE] How to build a world-class comic book with David Pepose

Since this episode David has gone on to write not only Savage Avengers, but a ton of Marvel books, but this was while he was still coming up, though he had built up a head of stream.

In this episode I talk to my good friend David Pepose, creator of Spencer and Locke, Going to the Chapel, and The O.Z., which is live on Kickstarter right now.  Here's his Comixology bio: 

After starting his career at DC Comics, David Pepose has gone on to write thousands of articles about comic book storytelling. SPENCER & LOCKE, Pepose's debut series with artist Jorge Santiago, Jr., has been praised by IGN as "a fiendishly fun take on an age-old classic."

A St. Louis native, Pepose currently lives in Los Angeles, where he works in the television industry. I met David years ago on the con circuit when he just had the first volume of Spencer and Locke, and I thought it was BANANAS.

He pitched it as Calvin and Hobbes meets Sin City, and it absolutely delivered. Plus, he's just a very pleasant human to conv…

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Author Stack to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Author Stack
Interview archive
Over the years I've interviewed over 100 successful creators about how they built and sustained their business. I used this knowledge to build my own career. Now, I'm opening my complete archive up to you.